DAY 5 & 6

DAY 5: i am thankful for good counselors. i know from experience and see on a daily basis the positive effects of quality counseling. if you’ve ever thought about getting counseling for any reason, just do it already!

DAY 6: i am thankful for the kind man i met today. this morning i arrived at my polling place 20 minutes before it opened to find around 200 people already in line. i figured there’d be people there, but not that many. the line was snaked through the parking lot and down the side of the road almost into my neighborhood! i took this picture from almost the front of the line, which keeps going for a while behind the trees. 

anyway, because i didn’t think i’d be in line that long and because i also didn’t think about the fact that i’d be standing outside, i failed to grab a jacket. it was 40 degrees and cloudy. the first thing the man in front of me said when i walked up was, “where’s your jacket? you are going to freeze! take mine…i have something in my car for me.” of course i told him not to worry about it, but he was not going to take no for an answer. he ran to his car and returned with a long sleeve t-shirt for himself and gave me his jacket. i was still really cold even with his jacket, so i know he was freezing. i kept thanking him and apologizing for causing him to go without his jacket. he assured me he was fine and that the joy he got in his heart for helping me was enough to keep him warm. awwww!

after standing out in the cold for 2 hours, we finally made it inside to vote. i gave him his jacket back and he gave me a hug and told me it was nice to meet me. i thanked him again for being so nice and we parted ways.

Leave a Reply

